The performances were hot at the 20th annual awards show in Miami; Aventura ruled the evening with four wins

By Lena Hansen
Updated February 22, 2008 02:00 AM

Premio Lo Nuestro can now add a new page of memories to its scrapbook. The 20th annual awards show honoring the best in Latin music was held at American Airlines Arena in Miami. Dominican band Aventura led the pack this year winning four honors, followed by the Mexican band Intocable with three. Other artists who went home with their hands full were Juan Luis Guerra, Olga Tañón and the rock group Maná, each scoring two awards.

An electrifying performance from Juanes kicked off the event that aired live on Univisión. Another memorable moment in the spotlight came from Pepe Aguilar, who turned the stage into a fiesta when he sang “100% Mexicano” while surrounded by traditional dancers. Vicente Fernández, who won the excellence award, gave the audience a beautiful serenade, while Tañón gave the crowd a taste of her greatest hits onstage before being honored for her 20-year artistic career.

Puerto Rican superstar Ricky Martin was presented the Máxima Excelencia award from TV personality Cristina Seralegui. Fellow heartthrob Enrique Iglesias buttered up his fans with a sweet performance of his new hit “¿Dónde están corazón?”

Elvis Crespo brought the night to an end with a performance alongside Grupo Manía and underneath a shower of fireworks. But nostalgia was king at Premio Lo Nuestro, taking us back in time and uncovering memories with every tune.